Ecclesiatical Buildings

Manila was the religious center of the Philippines. Here were the Cathedral and episcopal palace of the Archdiocese of Manila, to which the dioceses of Cebu, Nueva Caceres (Naga), Nueva Segovia (Vigan) were suffragan. Here were the principal houses of the religious orders: Augustinian, Franciscan, Jesuit, Dominican, Recollect, Brothers of St. John of God, and Capuchin. The principal houses of the women congregations and the different brotherhoods. Here were the beaterios and refugios, houses of refuge for women who were either widowed or whose family wanted to keep them away from danger or persistent suitors.


About this entry